In a record-breaking, perfect season Barça lifted the EHF Champions League Men trophy with victory over underdogs Aalborg

Five and a half months after losing the EHF FINAL4 2020 final, Barça took their revenge and lifted the EHF Champions League trophy, their ninth in history.

Against Aalborg it took 10 minutes for Barça to warm up before the machine started rolling, heading towards a record win. For the first time, the champions won all their games throughout the season and finished off with the biggest margin ever for an EHF FINAL4 final.

Aleix Gómez led the way for the Spanish side, scoring five goals in the first half alone, and with a strong defence, Barça were well ahead at the break, 16:11.


Barça kept their foot to the pedal after the break, with Luka Cindric and Gómez continuing to shine. They took their first 10-goal lead at the 45th minute, when goalkeeper Gonzalo Perez de Vargas scored in the empty goal. 15 minutes later their 36:23 win was sealed.

The victory made is 20 wins from 20 matches – no team had ever been able to win all their games, giving the Blaugranas a well-earned status as favourites for the title, enabling them to banish the memories of losing in Cologne to Kiel in the final in December 2020.

Gómez netted nine times for Barça while Lukas Sandell scored eight times for Aalborg. Gonzalo Perez de Vargas was handed the MVP trophy, presented by the City of Cologne. The top scorer of the EHF Champions League season 2020/21 is HBC Nantes' Valero Rivera with 95 goals.



Vipers Kristiansand were crowned DELO EHF Champions League winners in 2020/21 after seeing off Brest Bretagne in Budapest

Vipers Kristiansand gave Brest little chance in the final game of the DELO EHF Champions League 2020/21 season as they secured their first trophy in the top flight with a 34:28 win.

Both finalists in the DELO EHF Champions League had the chance to take an historic first trophy in Budapest, and it was Vipers who earned the coveted title as they dominated the 60 minutes against Brest.

Kristiansand’s win represents the second in history for a Norwegian club, after Larvik clinched the title in 2010/11. Five Vipers players added to previous titles won in the Champions League with the victory: Nora Mørk, Heidi Løke, Katrine Lunde, Linn Jorum Sulland and Jana Knedlikova. For Mørk, Lunde and Løke, it is the fifth trophy with a third different club.

The Norwegian side were the worthy winners after completely controlling the trophy match thanks to flawless attack and a stronger defensive game than their rivals. Vipers profited from a far stronger start, scoring three unanswered goals before Brest netted their first and racing ahead to a lead as clear as five goals. Led by their back court and some stylish positional attack, Brest fought back to draw level at 9:9 in the 15th minute, but they could only stay on equal footing for a few minutes before Vipers pulled away again.

Supported by saves from Lunde, Vipers rapidly increased their lead in the second period, hitting a seven-goal advantage at 22:15 in the 35th minute. Their veteran keeper Katrine Lunde became increasingly important as the game progressed, as she racked up eight saves in the first half and made some key stops in the critical final moments.

Henny Reistad was top scorer with 12 goals and earned the tournament's MVP title for the DELO EHF FINAL4 2021. Brest's right back Ana Gros led her team with eight goals in the final and became the season's top scorer with a tally of 135 goals.