Magdeburg became the first winners of the EHF European League Men after beating Füchse Berlin 


SC Magdeburg held off a second half comeback by Füchse Berlin to lift the first ever EHF Finals Men trophy after a 28:25 win in the final in Mannheim.

Bennet Wiegert’s side led by eight goals early in the second period but although Füchse rallied to get within two at one point, it was not enough to stop Magdeburg from being crowned EHF European League Men champions.

Victory also gave Magdeburg their first European trophy since winning the second-tier EHF Cup 14 years ago – and their fifth in their history.

A delighted Bennet Wiegert, who was part of the SCM squad that won the EHF Champions League in 2002, said: “To win this first ever European League trophy is a moment for eternity, it is historic. Yesterday the fear of losing and to get eliminated was bigger than the joy of winning, today, we could not get eliminated, we could only win, and this is how we played.

“We knew that we would need two almost perfect days to win this title, and we made it.”

Bennet Wiegert

It was a double celebration for the German side as goalkeeper Jannick Green – who made 17 crucial saves in the final – was awarded MVP of the tournament.

After a brilliant win over Rhein-Neckar Löwen on Saturday, there was heartache for runners-up Füchse.

Füchse coach Jaron Siewert said: “SC Magdeburg did great work this weekend and deserved to win. But despite a seven-goal difference after the break, we kept our heads up, we were close to change the game, but Magdeburg today had their key player in the goal, who saved so many free shots, he was the difference.”


Nantes Atlantique enjoyed a dominant performance in the final to clinch their first European title beating Siófok KC in the final of the first EHF Finals Women in Baia Mare.

In only their fifth season in European competitions, Nantes Atlantique Handball were unstoppable in the EHF Finals Women. In the final they secured their second win in as many days, 36:31, against Siófok KC, to lift the inaugural EHF European League Women trophy.

After a 17-game unbeaten run in the competition, Siófok KC lost the chance to become only the second team ever to defend the trophy of the second-tier European competition, dropping their first game since 2019 in the final.

Bruna De Paula (Nantes Atlantique Handball) secured the MVP award but did not pass Helene Fauske (Herning-Ikast Handbold) on the overall top scorer standings for the season, leaving the prize for the Norwegian back, who scored 61 goals for Herning-Ikast this season.

Nantes wing Nathalie Hagman finished the weekend with 18 goals to be top scorer of the EHF Finals Women.